Trying to understand “Creating Symmetry”

I am struggling with the book: “Creating Symmetry – The Artful Mathematics of Wallpaper Patterns” by Frank A Farris, which I presented in my last post. As a very pedestrian mathematician and programmer I have difficulties with his abstract methods, based on complex numbers and group theory. However, the results are too beautiful and I want to create similar images.

I will now use JavaScript instead of processing. Any browser executes JavaScript very rapidly and pixel-wise image manipulation becomes possible. Together with a free programming editor such as “Notepad++” or “Sublime Text” you have all you need. And you can use your experience to program web-pages too, of course. To learn JavaScript, you might try free online courses at Codecademy or Udacity, for example. Then, you should learn how to save the different versions of your work with git. This can save you a lot of time when things break down.

I hope that I will be able to post some results here in this blog. I will not give you a summary of Farris book. To get everything you will need to buy it for yourself.

This entry was posted in Kaleidoscopes, programming, Tilings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

