Fooling around

Being tired from gardening and a long day out in the sun I made same programming mistakes and experiments. Thus I found that the iteration methods for quasiperiodic tilings can too be used to create mandala or rose windows.

To get a variety of colors I used semitransparent color with the alpha-channel of 24-bit color. Otherwise uneconomical iteration methods that redraw same tiles several times are especially interesting. An example is the method of the post “iteration of rhombs: filling the gap (2)“. Starting with a star of 12 rhombs I got this after 4 iterations:

Then I tried out a new iteration of octagons using a superposition of several images. This is difficult to control but yields sometimes amazing pictures, such as this one:Here some artefacts arise due to the JPEG image compression method. Also I do not really know how the colors will appear on your computer screen. My laptop produces strange effects depending on the angle I am looking.

This entry was posted in Extra and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

